the Luxor Temple was built by Amenophis III; it is smaller and more compact than the Karnak temple and was once a refuge for every great religion that existed in ancient Egypt.
Six colossi and two obelisks originally stood in front of the entrance but now only three colossi of Ramses II and one obelisk remain. The missing obelisk was given to France by Mohammed Ali in 1819 and now stands in the place de La Concorde in Paris.
Inside the Luxor Temple, the sanctuary of the sacred Barque was rebuilt by Alexander the Great
in Accordance to Amenhotep III’s original plans. Amenophis gets his due in the hypostyle half of 32 columns where carvings show him paying tribute to the creator — god of whom he was declared to be the offspring. In one of the courtyards leading to the hall, you may be surprised to see the minaret and dome of a mosque. It was built, long before the temple was excavated, to honor Abu El Haggag, a revered Muslim holy man of the 12′ Century, and there seems to be no moving it now, though archaeologists would like to get at the temple columns beneath it.